Tenterden in the Great War

Welcome to the town page for Tenterden. Explore your town map to discover people who lived in your town during the First World War.

The Kent and East Sussex Railway (known as the Rother Valley Railway when founded) first came to Tenterden in 1903, bringing access to goods made in London and for goods to be sent to the capital and the town was the market town for the surrounding areas.

In the First World War there was a 20 bed hospital at Clifton House which was run by Kent VAD (Voluntary Aid Detachment) 20. A number of local women and men assisted at the hospital throughout the First World War from the hospital’s mobilisation in October 1914 to take in wounded Belgian soldiers until it closed in 1919.The operation of Clifton House was supported by local fund raising and donations.

During the First World War St Mildred’s Church Hall in Church Road was used as the drill hall for the Royal East Kent Mounted Rifles (D Squadron) and 4th Battalion, East Kent Regiment (G Company).The hall was where local men could enlist. However local men served in numerous regiments and were represented in all the services.

In 1916 local people would have gone to see the Battle of the Somme film at the Cinema Palace which was on Oaks Road.

The War memorial was unveiled on the 26th of May 1920, the memorial’s architect was W. Wrigley Diggle of London; who was the son of the Tenterden mayor Cllr J.R Diggle; and the 2 side panels list the 78 local men who died during the War.

Information courtesy Red Cross, Memories of Kent Cinemas, www.geograph.org.uk and www.kentfallen.com

1. The Latter Residence, 16 High Street

Latter Residence Elmstone House

2. Tenterden Fire Station

Tenterden Fire Station

3. Temperance Hotel

Temperance Hotel & High Street Temperance Hotel Temperance Hotel

4. Town Hall – Mounted Rifles

Town Hall mounted rifles 1912 and 1914
Tenterden Town Hall

5. The Saint Michael’s Church and School

St Michaels St Michaels Church & Schools

6. The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn

7. Clifton House

Clifton House

8. Homewood

Homewood

9. The Post Office

Post Office

10. St Mildreds Church

St Mildreds Church

11. Beacon Oak Road

Beacon Oak Road

12. Oaks Place

Oak Place

13. Woodchurch Road

Picture Theatre, Woodchurch Road

14. Picture Theatre

Picture Theatre

15. Drill Hall

Tenterden Volunteers 1914Tenterden Drill Hall

16. Tenterden Club

Tenterden Club

17. Tenterden Station

Tenterden Station

18. Vine Inn Horse

Vine Inn Horse

19. John Collison

John Collison

20. Miss Beatrice Whiteman

Miss Beatrice Whiteman

21. Vicarage at St Michael’s

Vicarage St Michaels

22. Harry Willsher

Harry Willsher

23. Minnnie Edwards

Minnie Edwards

24. St Benedict’s Priory

St Benedict's Priory, Tenterden

 

617ten-st-benedict-priory-tenterden-front

Now residential property, known as Finchden Manor

 

25. High Street, Tenterden

High St TenterdenHigh Street, Tenterden

618ten-high-street-tenterden-front618ten-high-street-tenterden-back

 

The card is stamped at 9.30am on 5 February 1914 and is addressed to Miss Avery. Later Miss Edith Avery of East Court, Tenterden served as a nurse in a VAD Hospital. She served 756 hours from December 1916 to January 1918.

Information courtesy of Red Cross

 

26. Tenterden War Memorial

war-memorial-may-1920 Tenterden War Memorial war-memorialThe War memorial was unveiled on the 26th of May 1920, the memorial’s architect was W. Wrigley Diggle of London son of the Tenterden mayor Cllr J.R Diggle and the 2 side panels list the 78 local men who died during the War
Unveiling of the War Memorial
619ten-high-street-war-memorial-tenterden-front

 

Image courtesy of Darrienne Price, information courtesy of http://www.kentfallen.com/